Cades Cove

There is a valley in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park that for me, is one of the most beautiful places in the world.  Though there are many places I have never been, I can’t imagine anything that could be more peaceful or breathtaking than Cades Cove.  Riding through the 11-mile loop, you will without a doubt encounter your share of wildlife including deer, fox, rabbits, and turkeys.  On our most recent trip, we were so excited to come across a mama black bear and her three tiny cubs!  I felt so lucky to watch them in their habitat, though definitely respecting their space {a mama bear is nothin’ to mess with, or any bear for that matter}.

If it’s your first time to Cades Cove, I definitely suggest taking your time, stopping at the cabins and churches still standing from the mid-late 1800’s.  May through September, on Wednesdays and Saturdays, the loop is reserved for hikers and bicyclist from sun-up to 10 a.m.  According to my “Cades Cove expert” hubby, the best time to go is during the week around the month of September.  If you plan on driving the loop, expect to spend over two hours in the park.  Find more info here.

My favorite thing about Cades Cove is I feel my eyes can’t get wide enough- if that makes sense!  It is so breathtaking; I want to take it all in.  I feel so far away from my everyday worries.  So simple, yet so gorgeous and thrilling at the same time.  It’s truly a gift.


Pretty, huh? 🙂

Gracious Gal

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Reflections, Travel

Leave a Reply

