Brazenhead Books: A Secret NY Bookstore

I follow @Etsy on Twitter, and a few days ago I came across this tweet: “Sorry folks, the site is down at the moment. Now would be a good time to view this secret bookshop video.”  As any inquisitive person would, I did as instructed.

Andrew Watson, a photography genius out of New York City, directed the short piece for Etsy about Michael, the owner of Brazenhead Books and a lifelong bookseller.  The short “documentary” transplants you immediately with the sounds of The Album Leaf, slowly revealing fantastical images of books one would need a lifetime to accrue.  Immediately, I had chills.

According to Michael, the secret bookstore guy, “It’s a continuation of me being a bookseller the way I want to be… I find ways to survive without making it what you would call a successful business.  If it’s all about money, there’s just better things to sell.”

Andrew does such a beautiful job capturing the essence of the space, Michael’s home, the books… I know I watched the video at least five times.

“Come find me, visit me.  I’m hiding in plain sight.”  Sigh… now if that doesn’t make you want to hop on a plane and scour the streets of New York looking for this treasure, I don’t know what will.  Thank you Etsy, thank you Andrew, and mostly, thank you Michael!

Read the full story at Etsy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

