For all you girls about 25…

Nashville- A city full of twenty-somethings

Nashville (life in general)-

I will turn 26 in a month and I am bummed.  Why?  Well, if you had asked me at 8 years old where I would be at 26, I would have confidently replied, “Putting my babies to sleep before making a speech as the first woman president of the United States.”  As you can see, that is not the case.  

I picked up a book the other day and in my current mind-set, decided on 20 Something 20 Everything by Christine Hassler.  I was convinced that only I could feel this lost.  But to my surprise, Christine and many other women have felt the same way in their twenties.  This particular part really caught my attention:

    “Our twenties are a turning point in our lives where we feel pressure to do, well, everything.  As the security blankets of college and parents are peeled away, we are faced with finding jobs, building careers, moving to new cities, taking care of our own finances, dating, marriage, thinking about children, starting families, making our first large investments, creating new social lives, watching our parents age and shaping an identity to last the rest of our adulthood.”

Wow!  I feel just about ALL of those things!  So, where do I go from here?  Are you kidding me?  I have no clue!  Maybe through this book I will find some answers.  Maybe through experience.  But for now my goal is to be resilient, advice I got from someone close.  Because the truth is, I’ve got a great life.  And when I’m indulged in feeling sorry for myself, I try to remember that.  

love, 

gg

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

